10 African Countries Join Morocco and Nigeria in Gas Pipeline Project: Latest Updates and Signings

African Countries Join Gas Pipeline Project between Morocco and Nigeria

Moroccan website Hespress reported that four African countries have signed memorandums of understanding with Morocco and Nigeria to participate in the gas pipeline project between them, bringing the total number of countries involved in the project to ten countries.

Signing Ceremony at ECOWAS Headquarters

According to the site, the signing took place today, Friday, at the headquarters of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) in Lagos, Nigeria, in the presence of Amina Benhadra, Director General of the National Hydrocarbons and Minerals Administration.

Expanding the Project’s Reach

He explained that a message released by the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation states that “the countries that have signed MoUs with Morocco and Nigeria are Côte d’Ivoire, Liberia, Guinea and Benin, which is a continuation of MoUs signed with the ECOWAS group, Mauritania, Senegal, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Sierra Leone and Ghana last year.”

Meeting of the Steering Committee

He added that “the signing of new memorandums took place on the sidelines of the meeting of the Steering Committee of the Nigeria-Morocco gas pipeline project, which was attended by representatives of the ECOWAS Economic Community and all interested countries, including: Nigeria, Benin, Togo, Ghana, Côte d’Ivoire , Liberia, Sierra Leone, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Gambia, Senegal and Mauritania”. And Morocco.

Historical Background

It is noteworthy that the announcement of a gas pipeline project between Nigeria and Morocco in 2016 took place in Abuja, led by King Mohammed VI of Morocco and former Nigerian President Mohammed Buhari. The verification is done.

Source: Hespress

Follow AsumeTech on

More From Category

More Stories Today

Leave a Reply