1097 players registered for IPL auction, most of West Indies abroad

Chennai, Feb 5 (Hindi) 1097 players have registered themselves for the Indian Premier League (IPL) auction on February 18, including 56 from West Indies, 42 from Australia and 38 from South Africa. The last date for registration of the players expired on Thursday. The list also includes a total of 207 international players, including 21 cricketers who have played for India. 27 players from associate countries have registered. Apart from this, there are 863 players who have not yet represented their country’s senior team. These include 743 Indian and 68 foreign players. There are 50 Indian players who have not represented the country but have played at least one IPL match. Two foreign players are also included in this list. “If each franchise holds a maximum of 25 players in its team, 61 players will be bought at the auction (22 of which may be foreign players),” the IPL statement said on Friday. The auction will begin at 3 pm local time, one day after the second Test match between India and England. Kings XI Punjab will enter the auction with the highest amount of Rs 53.20 crores. It was followed by Royal Challengers Bangalore (Rs 35.90 crore), Rajasthan Royals (Rs 34.85 crore), Chennai Super Kings (Rs 22.90 crore), Mumbai Indians (Rs 15.35 crore), Delhi Capitals (Rs 12.9 crore) and Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad (both 10.75 crores). The IPL was played in the UAE in 2020 but this time it is likely to be held in India. Australian top players such as Steve Smith and Glenn Maxwell were released on January 20 by their teams Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab. Other key players who were dropped by their teams include Chris Maurice, Harbhajan Singh and Aaron Finch. A total of 139 players were retained by the franchise in their teams, while 57 players were dropped. The number of 283 foreign players who have registered overseas are as follows: Afghanistan (30), Australia (42), Bangladesh (5), England (21), Ireland (2), Nepal (8), Netherlands ( 1), New Zealand (29), Scotland (7), South Africa (38), Sri Lanka (31), UAE (9), America (2), West Indies (56) and Zimbabwe (2).