Date of the Ballon d’Or award ceremony

The attention of the fans of the round witch will turn, on Monday evening, to the French capital, Paris, to follow the ceremony of the Ballon d’Or for the year 2021, during which the player crowned with the title for the year in course will be revealed.

The Ballon d’Or award ceremony will begin at 10:30 pm Mecca time at the Théâtre du Chatelet.

best candidate

Most of the speculation points to the Argentine star Lionel Messi, the Paris Saint-Germain striker, who won the Ballon d’Or award, which is awarded annually by the magazine “France Football” to the best player in the world, despite the brilliance of other players, in particularly the Polish star Robert Lewandowski, Bayern Munich’s top scorer.

List of 30 candidates:

France Football announced in earlier that 30 players had been chosen to compete for the Ballon d’Or award for the best player in the world for the year 2021 and the voting began among the journalists of the French magazine on 9 October.

And the famous French magazine has published, as usual in recent years, the names of the 30 candidates in 6 lots, each lot comprising 5 names, and presented in the following form.

The first batch:

Algerian Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City), French N’Golo Kante (Chelsea), Norwegian Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund), Italian Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), English Mason Mount (Chelsea).

The second episode:

The English Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), the French Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), the Italian Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain), the English Raheem Sitterling (Manchester City) and the Italian Nicolo Parilla (Inter).

third lot:

The Argentine Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain), the Portuguese Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), the Spanish Pedri (Barcelona), the Croatian Luka Modric (Real Madrid) and the Italian Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus).

Fourth lot:

The Belgian Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), the Brazilian Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain), the Portuguese Ruben Diaz (Manchester City), the Argentine Lautaro Martinez (Inter) and the Dane Simon Kjaer (AC Milan).

Fifth lot:

The Polish Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), the Italian Georgino (Chelsea), the Egyptian Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), the Spanish Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea) and the Belgian Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea).

Sixth lot:

The Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), the Spanish Gerard Moreno (Villarreal), the English Phil Foden (Manchester City), the French Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain) and the Uruguayan Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid).

How to choose the winner of the “Golden Ball 2021”

The winner of the Ballon d’Or is chosen by voting from among 170 journalists of the French magazine “France Football”.

Each journalist of the French magazine chooses 5 candidates among the 30 to win the Ballon d’Or, in so that the first gets 6 points, the second 4 points, the third 3 points, the fourth two points and the fifth one point.

Place and date of the 2021 Ballon d’Or ceremony

The Ballon d’Or award ceremony will take place on Monday 29 November at the Théâtre du Chatelet in Paris, the same theater that hosted the ceremony in 2019.

This will be the first time that the ceremony will take place since the outbreak of the emerging Corona Virus “Covid-19” pandemic, which caused the cancellation of the 2020 edition of the award.

The latest winner of the award was Lionel Messi in 2019, to win the Ballon d’Or with six balls, and to break the partnership with the traditional rival, the Portuguese star Cristiano Ronaldo, Manchester United forward, who won the award five times .

Here is the list of the winners of the Ballon d’Or:

2019: Lionel Messi

2018: Croatian Luka Modric

2017: Cristiano Ronaldo

2016: Cristiano Ronaldo

2015: Lionel Messi

2014: Cristiano Ronaldo

2013: Cristiano Ronaldo

2012: Lionel Messi

2011: Lionel Messi

2010: Lionel Messi

2009: Lionel Messi

2008: Cristiano Ronaldo

2007: the Brazilian Ricardo Kaká

2006: Fabio Cannavaro, Italy

2005: Brazilian Ronaldinho

2004: Ukrainian Andrey Shevchenko

2003: the Czech Pavel Nedved

2002: Brazilian Ronaldo

2001: English Michael Owen

2000: Luis Figo, Portugal

1999: Brazilian Rivaldo

1998: the French Zinedine Zidane

1997: Brazilian Ronaldo

1996: Matthias Sammer, Germany

1995: the Liberian George Weah

1994: Hristo Stoichkov, Bulgarian

1993: the Italian Roberto Baggio

1992: the Dutch Marco van Basten

1991: Jean-Pierre Papin, French

1990: German Lothar Matthaus

1989: the Dutch Marco van Basten

1988: the Dutch Marco van Basten

1987: the Dutchman Ruud Gullit

1986: Soviet Igor Bilanov

1985: the French Michel Platini

1984: the French Michel Platini

1983: the French Michel Platini

1982: the Italian Paolo Rossi

1981: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, Germany

1980: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, Germany

1979: Kevin Keegan of England

1978: Kevin Keegan of England

1977: Allen Simonsen of Denmark

1976: the German Franz Beckenbauer

1975: Soviet Oleg Blokhin

1974: Johan Cruyff, Dutch

1973: the Dutch Johan Cruyff

1972: the German Franz Beckenbauer

1971: Johan Cruyff, Dutch

1970: Gerd Muller, Germany

1969: the Italian Gianni Rivera

1968: Welsh George Best

1967: Florian Albert from Hungary

1966: Bobby Charlton, England

1965: Eusebio from Portugal

1964: Dennis Lowe from Scotland

1963: Soviet goalkeeper Lev Yashin

1962: the Czechoslovakian Joseph Masopust

1961: Italian-Argentine Omar Sivori

1960: Luis Suarez, Spain

1959: Alfredo Di Stefano of Spain

1958: Frenchman Raymond Cuba

1957: Alfredo Di Stefano of Spain

1956: Stanley Matthews, English.

Read More About: Sports News