England choose Garton for Sri Lankan ODIs, Stone suffers from another injury Setback

Sussex’s left-Armnayer, Garton is in Line to make his debut in a three-match series against Sri Lanka, that in Chester-le-Street begins on June 29th.

The hapless Paceman Stone was ruled out for the rest of the english summer, played in a test series- Decisive loss to New Zealand at Edgbaston.

Ben Stokes will return from a broken finger for Durham in die T20 Blast light against Birmingham bears on Sunday, but the all-rounder is not there in England’s 16-man squad.

The Tempo trio Jofra Archer (elbow), Saqib Mahmood (stomach) and Reece Topley (side Stamm) are doing very well progress with their recoveries from injury but won’t face Sri Lanka.

Graham Thorpe will step in die To take responsibility of the team how head coach Chris Silverwood is taking a break with Paul Collingwood set to take over tasks for die Pakistani ODI series next Month.

Silverwood said, “We have die progress of George Garton for some time. He was an important part of Sussex’s bowling unit in White-ball cricket for a extended Period.

“His ability to bowl fast with his point of Difference is a left-poor there certainly us options in these series, and he deserves his chance at this level.

“This ODI series is important as we move on build Momentum ahead of die World Cup 2023. Despite some injuries, the squad I’ve picked is strong and there us Depth across all departments. We look forward to compete and bet on a show for the fans. “

He added of Stone’s setback: “Unfortunately after that second Test at Edgbaston against New Zealand, Olly Stone has been diagnosed with a fatigue fracture of its lower back and will miss the rest of the summer with the injury.

“It is a great a shame as Olly has shown real promise with the ball and would have been there of our selection plans for these series. “

England ODI squad:

Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, George Garton, Liam Livingstone, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Read More: Cricket News


Leave a Reply