India versus England, 5th T20I: Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma bring the hosts a 3-2 win

With that win, India won the series 3-2 in five games, and now both teams will compete in the ODI series with three games from March 23 in Pune.


England had a mammoth goal of 225 and got off to a miserable start when opener Jason Roy (0) was sent back to the pavilion by Pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar in the first inning. Dawid Malan joined Jos Buttler in the middle and the duo launched the attack on Indian bowlers, keeping the scoreboard ticking at a healthy running rate.

Malan and Buttler scored goals all over the park and kept scoring limits at regular intervals. The duo passed the page to the three-digit mark in the 10th. After completing 10 overs, the England score was 104/1. Meanwhile, Malan ended his half century with 33 balls in the 11th.

Buttler also finished his fifty of 30 balls in the next round. When things were out of India’s reach, Bhuvneshwar brought the hosts back into the game and scalped Buttler (52) past on the 13th. Buttler’s knock was manned by four sixes and two fours. Buttler and Malan had a 130-year partnership for the second wicket.

Jonny Bairstow came in to hit fourth, but his stay didn’t last long as Shardul Thakur scalped two wickets in his 16th and India on top. Thakur grabbed Bairstow (7) and then skipper Eoin Morgan (1) in the same lap. New batsmen Ben Stokes and Chris Jordan arrived at the crease to save the site. England was at 144/5 in 16 overs. The side that takes 81 runs out of the last four overs, an unlikely task.

For India, Bhuvneshwar has bowled economically and put pressure on the English dough. He returned with the numbers 2-16 in his four overs. Shardul Thakur packed three wickets.

Previously, Skipper Kohli had played a stroke of 80 runs while Rohit and Suryakumar Yadav played strokes of 64 and 32 respectively when the hosts recorded 224/2 in the allotted 20 overs. The decisive blow, however, came at the end of Hardik Pandya, when the daring all-rounder played an innings of 39 runs with just 17 balls.

Read More: Cricket News


Leave a Reply