Home Technology India’s PSLV rocket to launch three foreign satellites on June 30

India’s PSLV rocket to launch three foreign satellites on June 30


Chennai, June 22 (IANS) India will put into orbit three foreign satellites for a fee on June 30 with its Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) rocket.

The mission is code named PSLV-C53/DS-EO.

The Indian space agency, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) will use the rocket’s fourth and final stage as an orbital platform for six payloads, including two from Indian space start-ups, Digantara and Dhruva Aerospace.

The mission proposes to demonstrate the utilisation of the spent upper stage of the launch vehicle as a stabilised platform for scientific payloads, subsequent to the separation of the satellites.

According to the ISRO, the PSLV-C53 rocket is expected to blast off from the second launch pad at the Sriharikota rocket port at 6 p.m. on June 30. The countdown for the launch will begin at 5 p.m. on June 29.

This will be the second dedicated commercial mission of NewSpace India Ltd.

The Indian rocket will carry three satellites – the 365 kg DS-EO and 155 kg NeuSAR, satellites belonging to Singapore and built by Starec Initiative of South Korea.

The third satellite is a 2.8 kg Scoob-1 of Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore.

The four stage, 44.4 m tall PSLV-C53 has a lift-off mass of about 228 ton.


Exit mobile version