Infectious Disease Center: Airlines must ban travelers from 8 African countries

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has advised airlines to ban travelers from 8 African countries.

The center has issued a directive requiring airlines to disclose passenger names and other information about those who have recently been in eight southern African countries and will hand them over to local public health officials, according to documents reviewed by Reuters.

The center said it sent a letter to the airlines on Tuesday in delay, stating that “they must collect and deliver the names and contact information of any passenger within 14 days”.

Airlines and companies responded promptly to a deluge of travel restrictions announced over the weekend to slow the spread of the Omicron coronavirus strain.

A first set of flight bans from South Africa, in the new strain was first detected, led to broader measures that make travel more expensive and less convenient, as the early days of the pandemic recall.

In turn, the UK has established new rules, in which he requested that they be provided test PCR mandatory for all passengers in arrival and stated that they must isolate themselves until a negative result for the virus appears. While Israel has closed its airports to all foreigners in I arrive for a period of 14 days, while the Philippines have stated that travelers from European countries including Switzerland and the Netherlands will not be welcome for several weeks.

Read More About: Business News