iOS 17.3 Will Add These Two New Features to Your iPhone

This week, Apple released the first beta of iOS 17.3. So far, the future software update has two new features.

Like iOS 16.3 and 15.3, iOS 17.3 is expected to come out in January, but it could also come out in February. The update will work on iPhones newer than the XS, but some functions of iOS 17 will only work on newer iPhones.

Here is more information about the new features that have been added to iOS 17.3.

Stolen Device Protection

Stolen Device Protection is a new tool in iOS 17.3 that can help protect users whose iPhones have been stolen and whose passcodes have been hacked.

This year, Joanna Stern and Nicole Nguyen of The Wall Street Journal wrote about thieves spying on an iPhone user’s passcode before stealing the device, usually in public places like bars. If someone steals an Apple ID, they can change the victim’s password, disable Find My, see the banking and email account passwords saved in iCloud Keychain, and do other things. The study said that thieves can “steal your entire digital life.”

When Stolen Device Protection is turned on, you need to authenticate with Face ID or Touch ID to do some extra things, like viewing passwords or passkeys saved in iCloud Keychain, applying for a new Apple Card, turning off Lost Mode, deleting all content and settings, using payment methods saved in Safari, and more. If the user can’t finish biometric authentication, no passcode can be used instead.

This feature adds an extra layer of security on top of physical authentication for very important tasks, like changing the Apple ID account password linked to the iPhone. In this case, the user needs to use Face ID or Touch ID to log in, wait an hour, and then use Face ID or Touch ID to log in again. Apple said there would be no delay when the iPhone is in a place it is used to, like at home or work.

In the Settings app, go to Face ID & Passcode → Stolen Device Protection on an iPhone that runs iOS 17.3. This is where you can turn on the consent option.

Apple Music Collaborative Playlists

Apple Music users can now use Collaborative Playlists, which lets more than one person add to, change the order of, or remove songs from a shared playlist.

At first, this feature was supposed to come out with iOS 17.2, but it was taken out near the end of the beta testing time. The feature was added again in iOS 17.3, and Apple’s website says it will be back in 2024.

Follow AsumeTech on

More From Category

More Stories Today

Leave a Reply