T20 World Cup: three European qualifiers canceled due to COVID-19 pandemic

Finland was set your to host first ICC event with The qualifications for Subregional Europe A and B begin next Month.

The Europe B qualifier with hosts Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guernsey, Hungary, Luxembourg and Sweden should take place hosted between June 30th and July 5th.

The A qualifier was planned start three days later with Bulgaria, Cyprus, France, Israel, Italy, Malta, Norway and Spain will all compete until July 13th.

The Europe C qualifier that Belgium was to host between July 5th and 10th included Austria, Belgium, die Czech Republic, Denmark and die island of Man, Portugal, Romania, Serbia.

“Unfortunately we had to die three T20 World Cup Sub Regional Europe Qualifiers due to cancellation start next Month as result of die COVID-19 pandemic “ICC Head of Events, said Chris Tetley in an explanation.

” . due to the COVID-19 restrictions and the short deadlines, die die foresees the European season allow us to progress with the next step in There was no one else on the way option than cancel.

“I would like I thank Cricket Finland, the Belgian Cricket Federation and all participating members for their collective support in join in decision. “

Italy, Germany and Denmark are now qualify from the European sub-regional qualifiers A, B and C, die each determined by their position in die ICC T20I team ranking as on April 30, 2020.

You will now join jersey in The T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier is planned place in Spain between October 15 and 21, 2021 with two qualification places up for grabs in the A or B. global Qualifiers.

Two others events in die 2022 T20 World Cup way also been postponed.

The T20 World Cup Americas Qualifier is supposed to be hosted in Canada between July 17th and 23rd, on die Hosts Argentina, Bahamas, Belize, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, and Panama die USA were involved postponed by government and travel restrictions.

New dates and host country are confirmed in at a given time. The Asia B Qualifier, in which Bhutan, China, Malaysia, Myanmar, Hong Kong and Thailand are involved, should be hosted in Malaysia has between July 11th and 17th also been postponed. It should now be played between November 9th and 15th in Malaysia.

The decision was postponed due to extensive quarantine requirements in Malaysia and for the visit teams on their return to their respective countries.

Furthermore die Women’s T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier hosted of Malaysia has new confirmed dates of November 22nd to 28th.

Bhutan, China, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Myanmar, Nepal, Malaysia and die United Arab Emirates are all set to compete, with The date change allows Malaysia to host both events back-to-back.

Read More: Cricket News